Films on a Friday #50 – The International

Hello everyone! So here it is, the first new film I’ve seen this year. This is the fifth year I’m going to aim to complete the resolution of watching 100 new films and I’m really enjoying it so far! My friend recommended that I should include some of the top 250 IMDB films this year. I don’t think I could complete it all, that’s basically 5 films a week, but I’ll definitely check it out and see which of the ‘classics’ appeal to me.

I’m still restricted to films on TV as we are still sans internet, so this isn’t my usual sort of film I’d go for but I figured I’d give it a go:

1. The International

This was a recommendation from my Dad which says a lot; he likes complicated films with politics, baddies and at least one big gun shoot out. It was a good quality film and I can see why he enjoyed it, personally I found it quite complicated. Having watched it, I’m still not 100% sure what happened, I’ll have to have a google to double check I understood it all. There was one scene where they absolutely destroyed the Guggenheim museum in New York and I really want to know how they did it! It’s a difficult building to recreate so I wonder if it was in the real Guggenheim with computer effects, or if it was partially rebuilt. Hmm.. another thing I’ll have to do some research on! Overall if you like detective films with corruption and gun chases then this one is for you.

Just a few more days until we get the internet and I’ll have my beloved Netflix back! I’m going to be spoilt for choice after several weeks without it. Also, with any luck, Films on a Friday will actually be on time when I don’t have to wait for an appealing new film to come up on the tele. Here’s hoping! I hope you’re all having a good weekend.

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

