Films on a Friday #44 – Birdman, Happy Christmas

Hello there! I have two films for you this week. One I saw in the movie theater in Delmar, near Albany. And the other I watched whilst unpacking from Thanksgiving (blog post on that to come soon). Here we go…

111. Birdman
Ok so before seeing Birdman I watched half of a trailer and didn’t really know what to think of it, I had a vague idea but I more or less went in blind. I really enjoyed it but oh my gosh was it weird. The acting was great and I loved the way they filmed it all. The majority of the movie was shot using one camera that followed around the actors which really made you feel like you were a fly on the wall watching the people interact rather than sat in a cinema watching characters in a movie. The main actors were Michael Keaton, Emma Stone, Edward Norton and Zach Galifianakis and I was really impressed by all of their performances.

Ok let’s address the weird part: the plot. So Michael Keaton plays Riggan Thomson, an actor who was more successful in his younger days for playing a character called Birdman. Thomson is trying to put together a Broadway play and that is the main plot of the movie: the struggle of writing a movie, finding the right actors and keeping them happy, and all of the other dramas that are associated with writing, directing and starring in a Broadway show. For me, this was really interesting because I love Broadway shows so it was cool so get a behind the scenes look at how a play is put together. Here comes the weird part: so Thomson used to play Birdman, but it seems as though the character Birdman has become an internal alter-ego that speaks to Thomson and antagonizes him. We discussed this after and we thought maybe it was a psychotic break but then the ending ruined that theory so basically I can’t tell you what happened because I have no idea. Part of me is tempted to watch it again just to see if I missed some essential part of plot that would make it all make sense.

Overall, although it was confusing, I really liked this movie. The combination of the script/improv and the camera technique kept me entertained throughout the whole film. If you go and see it and can make more sense of it than I could, please let me know what theories you have!

Birdman 2P.s. isn’t the lighting in this photo just perfect? I love it.

112. Happy Christmas
Anna Kendrick plays Jenny, who goes to stay with her brother after breaking up with her boyfriend. Emotionally unstable, there’s a lot of drinking and drugs, and Jenny struggles to prove to her brother and sister-in-law that she is responsible enough to look after their son (her nephew). This film was no way near as dramatic as Birdman but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Jenny has several set backs but eventually she bonds with her sister-in-law and the movie has a nice finish to it. The one thing that irked me was the title, other than one scene at the end, there was no other reference to Christmas. So why call it Happy Christmas?? I don’t know… Anyway, despite the silly title it was quite good. My love for Anna Kendrick and Lena Dunham definitely carried this movie.

That’s all for this week. Apologies for the delay, this is the second time I’ve written this post thanks to a technical glitch and everything being deleted! Anyway, we got there in the end. Have a good week, everyone!

Sophie x

One thought on “Films on a Friday #44 – Birdman, Happy Christmas

  1. Had an idea of something you could do for your Films on a Friday if you fancied it! Or we could do it next year when we’re back or something? Watch all of IMDB’s Top 250, starting at 250 and ending at 1! Could be good? Lot of films though! 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

