Films on a Friday #38 – Refuge and Gone Girl

I saw Gone Girl and it blew my flippin’ mind! Gone GIrl was so incredible I was considering writing a separate blog post in its honour but I didn’t think it would be possible without talking about massive spoilers so it goes onto the list like every other film – only in my mind it has little gold stars around it because it was fantastic.

103. Refuge
Netflix has one of my top catgeories as “Films Featuring a Strong Female Lead” and this film popped up on my suggestions. Amy, played by Krysten Ritter from Don’t Trust The B—- in Apartment 23, is forced to drop out of college and to return home because her parents have walked out on the family and her younger brother and sister need someone to look up from them, especially the brother who has a mental ilness following a brain tumour. The film was ok, I felt like they could have done a huge amount with the characters in the film given the background of the characters but it just kind of didn’t happen. Maybe it was the style of the film but I felt like I was waiting for something more to happen, the plot felt very slow. One of the things that kept me entertained was noticing the amazing amount of chunky knit sweaters Amy was wearing – I think that says a lot about a film when one of the most memorable elements were sweaters!

104. Gone Girl
I cannot urge you enough to go and watch this film. Don’t bother waiting for it to come out on DVD or netflix, go to the cinema, put all distractions away and just get lost in Gone Girl. I audibly gasped several times throughout the movie because the plot and the way the story was told were ridiculously clever. In fact, there were several parts where everyone in the movie theater were shouting out things like “WHAT?!” “No!!” At one point I couldn’t help but say “What the f—??!!” which I’m not too proud of as I was sat next an old lady… I’m sure she was thinking it too though. I first heard about the film because I’m a big fan of Neil Patrick Harris, since then it’s all I’ve heard about on social media sites like twitter and tumblr because David Fincher, Director of Gone Girl, is a directorial genius. The interviews I watched beforehand of Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike, as well as some other actors, barely asked the actors how they prepared, but instead how they worked with Fincher so I thought he must be something special. David Fincher has also directed The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, The Social Network, Panic Room and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. That list should give you an idea of the quality of films he is capable of creating.

Plot: With his wife’s disappearance having become the focus of an intense media circus, a man sees the spotlight turned on him when it’s suspected that he may not be innocent. (IMDB) I can’t say much more about it without spoiling it, but as I watched Gone Girl I was so conflicted about what I believed myself, and I definitely couldn’t predict what was going to happen next. The film is 2 hours 25 minutes long and I barely noticed the time at all I was so involved. Please go and watch it and let me know what you think!

Have a great weekend everyone. I’ve got an exciting day lined up tomorrow, will blog about it soon!

Sophie x

2 thoughts on “Films on a Friday #38 – Refuge and Gone Girl

  1. I saw this recently and loved it, the book is just as gripping as the film (if not more so). I remember there was a woman behind me who kept saying things like ‘Jesus Christ!’ and ‘No fucking way!’ :’)

    Like

    • Love it! I’ll message you with a really funny thing this women behind me said, too spoilery to write here. When I’ve finished the book I’m currently reading Gone Girl is next in line. Hey you should review it? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

