Films on a Friday #37 – Now is Good, Delivery Man

Hello folks, I hope you’re all doing well. It’s starting to get colder here in Poughkeepsie, New York but I actually rather like it. I watched two new movies this week: Now is Good and Delivery Man.

101. Now Is Good
I found out about Now Is Good through a gif-set on tumblr of Jeremy Irvine and Elle Fanning, the two main characters, so I looked it up and found the title of the movie so I thought I’d give it a watch. The plot was about a teenage girl with terminal cancer who decides to stop chemotherapy because of the side effects and instead starts to do “as much as she can, as fast as she can”. I was a cute film, the plot was as you would expect it to be, as tragic as it is there aren’t many ways a film like this can end. I really liked the acting in this film, I felt like it was written in a way that allowed the audience to connect with the characters very quickly. If I’m completely honest, I cried at the end of this film. It doesn’t take much for me to cry over films but this was like full on sobbing. A beautiful sight for my housemate who came into the room just after I finished watching it! It was a film done in association with the BBC and some parts felt more like a BBC series than a film but I enjoyed it nonetheless.

102. Delivery Man
When Delivery Man first came out I was reluctant to see it, based on the trailer, I thought it looked quite silly. I decided to give it a watch though because I’m a big Cobie Smulders fan so I thought I’d give it a go. I really enjoyed it! It was a lot more meaningful than the trailer made it out to be. There were some funny parts, but for the most part it was the journey of David, the main character played by Vince Vaughn, discovering he had fathered over 500 children due to an issue at the sperm donation bank using his sperm donations for a while, and then having to decide whether he would allow them to know who he is or not. I really enjoyed this film, it didn’t drag at all and the acting was entertaining. It definitely raised questions about whether children who are the product of egg and sperm donations should be allowed to have contact with their biological parents. It also raises the question of what makes a parent and if it really matters who biologically made the child, as opposed to the parent who raised the child. It was an interesting plot line and I enjoyed this movie.

That’s all I have for you this week, I hope you all enjoy your weekend.

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

