Films on a Friday #36 – 100th film!! – Happythankyoumoreplease

Hello folks, I did it! 100 films!

For those who don’t know, I made a new year’s resolution to watch 100 films that I had never seen before, and this week I completed it. Woo! I’ve watched some incredible films, some awful films, and some that were just down right weird. My challenge for now until the end of 2014 is learn about specific directors that are known for their unique styles. I also want to watch some old films that are iconic or famous. So expect some old films over the next few months, as I try to explore those two sides of the movie world. Hopefully I learn something new!

So here it is, number 100:

happythankyoumoreplease-josh

100. Happythankyoumoreplease
So as some of you may know, I’m a huge How I Met Your Mother fan so for number 100 I chose Happythankyoumoreplease, a film written and directed by Josh Radnor, who plays Ted in HIMYM. It was Radnor’s directorial debut and won the ‘Audience Award’ at the 26th Sundance Film Festival in 2010. I really enjoyed it! I’m a sucker for films like this where it focuses on relationships between people rather than having some kind of mind-blowing plot; it can be refreshing.

Happythankyoumoreplease is a movie about Sam (played by Radnor) and the people that surround him in his life. Wikipedia described it as ‘a generational moment – young people on the cusp of truly growing up, tiring of their reflexive cynicism, each in their own ways struggling to connect and define what it means to love and be loved.’ Which I think sums it up quite nicely (although I’m not too sure what reflexive cynicism means…).

I think the film was cast well, and whilst it wasn’t that mind-blowing in terms of the plot, it was definitely a feel-good movie that actually made me a little emotional at one point. Radnor was really effective in his writing and directing to create a movie that allowed the viewer to easily and unknowingly relate to the characters, particularly if you are of a similar age/life-stage to them. Also I absolutely LOVED the music in the film. I looked it up after and fourteen of Jaymay’s songs were produced as score for the film by Michael Brake, music editor for How I Met Your Mother, and Andy Gowan was the music supervisor and is also the music supervisor for How I Met Your Mother. I love the music in the HIMYM series too so that was an interesting thing to read. Overall, I really enjoyed happythankyoumoreplease, and I look forward to watching Liberal Arts – another movie Radnor wrote and directed – when it gets added to Netflix later this month.

happythankyoumoreplease

And there you have it! 100 new films. As always, film suggestions are welcome. Have a great weekend!

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

