Films on a Friday #30 – Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit, The Other Woman

Hello folks, albeit slightly late, this week’s post is brought to you from Manhattan, New York City! I’ve been here since Monday and it’s just awesome, I’ll be writing a post about it soon so watch out for that. On with the show!

93. Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit
So I was flicking through the in-flight movies on Monday and came across this one so thought I’d give it a go. I don’t watch a huge amount of action movies but I really liked this one. Jack Ryan, a former PHD student, joins the military but after a horrific accident is no longer able to serve. Fast forward several years and he finds himself caught up in the world of CSI and his life and his girlfriend’s life is in danger. Chris Pine, who plays Jack Ryan, is awesome. I felt he did the whole psychological and physical trauma following the accident well. Keira Knightley was good, she attempted the American accent which was ok, but I thought her acting was really good. Her role was much more important than the typical ‘damsel in distress’ role the girlfriend of the main action hero tends to be stuck with. Give this film a watch, it’s pretty good.

94. The Other Woman
I’ve been meaning to watch this for a while because it looked genuinely funny. Cameron Diaz was funny but my favourite actress was Leslie Mann who really made this movie hilarious. Nicki Minaj pops up a few times in the movie and she was cool, it wasn’t the most significant role but I hear from my mega-Nicki-fan brother that she wants to get into acting so it was a good step in the right direction. I found this film really funny and would happily watch it again.

And that’s all for this week. I’m off to The Rockefeller Center now, have a great weekend!

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

