Films on a Friday #16

Hello folks, holy crap I’m at 60 films already! For those who are new here, for the past few years I have set myself the new year’s resolution to watch 100 new films a year. I definitely think resolutions like this are the way forward, long targets where if you fall off the wagon for a couple of weeks it doesn’t matter too much. Now just to think how to translate it into other areas, like run x number of miles in a year? Who knows! Anyway, on with the show:

60. The Big Wedding
It’s a film about a wedding, obviously. But more so a film about what happens when you bring all the family together in one place. It was quite cheesy, it was funny in places, but I felt a little bored when I was watching it. It’s a good thing Netflix keeps your place for you because I watched it over a couple of days as it didn’t particularly capture my attention. It was awful, it just wasn’t mind-blowing.

61. Restless
This one was interesting. Netflix said this about it: “After she’s diagnosed with a terminal disease, a girl strikes up a friendship with a boy who deals with his family problems by attending funerals.” Pretty interesting, right? I really liked it. The main female character, Annabel, is played by Mia Wasikowska who I recognized from Alice in Wonderland. If I’m honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of her in AiW, but I was really impressed in this film. In my opinion, she was very convincing and I also liked the other main actor, Henry Hopper, who played Enoch Brae. Although the description of the film sounds pretty morbid, it was a fairly cheerful film. They made the most of a bad situation. I’d recommend this film and would even watch it again, if any of you check it out let me know what you think!

That’s all for this week, I hope you have a good weekend!

Sophie x

 

Leave a Reply

