If Uni Isn’t Rewarding, I’ll Find Ways To Reward Myself

Hello folks,

That’s it, I’ve had enough. Second year is hard. Uni is hard. I’ve been feeling pretty stressed recently because of coursework, group work and placement applications and I just need a break. I didn’t realise how much I loved half-terms back when I was at school and college. Don’t you have a reading week? I hear you ask – well no, I don’t. In fact, on my course (and quite a lot of other courses for that matter) reading weeks are these fictional things that hardly anyone gets but if someone does get one, everyone else will quite frankly hate them for 7 days whilst they have to carry on going into uni and trying to catch up on work and reading at the same time. Sometimes it just feels like no matter how much effort and how many hours I put in, I just can’t see the rewards of it all.

So I figured I need to do something to get out of this funk and I think that if uni isn’t rewarding, I’ll find ways to reward myself. Primarily it seems that I’m doing that by blogging about my woes instead of getting cracking with the coding on my qualitative analysis.. but I promise I’ll get straight onto that once I post this! Something that is really carrying me through is the fact that in 8 days I will be seeing Kodaline at the O2 Academy in Birmingham. I’ve had tickets booked for ages and it’s almost here! If you haven’t heard of them, here’s a video that I have been playing on repeat recently so feel free to have a listen:

Another thing I’ve been doing is playing a lot of bass in my bedroom. There’s a girl who lives next door to us who likes to practice singing. A lot. And it’s that really high pitched, screamy/trilling kind of singing that only people like Beyonce and Jessie J should ever attempt. So! Bass is fun and it drowns out my vocal neighbour – bonus!

I’ve also been talking to my brother & sister and some friends from back home and making plans for the Easter break. On the one hand I don’t want it to come too quickly because of the pile of work I have to get done before then, but on the other hand I’m really excited to see my friends and family for 3 whole weeks! I’m also hoping to get some work whilst I’m there and possibly sort out some work for the summer but we’ll see how that goes.

Anyway, I should probably leave it there as my coursework is calling me but I hope you are all having a good week and I’d be really grateful of any tips you guys use when you’re not sure which is higher – the pile of uni work waiting for you or your stress levels! Feel free to comment below or tweet me at @sophieredgell.

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

