Films on a Friday #5

…hello folks. As the title suggests, this should have been ready yesterday. However, in the time I had allocated to write this week’s Films on a Friday, I totally forgot about it and went to the pub instead. Oops! Anyways, here it is:

29. The Place Beyond The Pines 
For some reason, in loads of the films I’ve been watching recently, Bradley Cooper keeps popping up – you’ll hear more about, he’s in Case 39 which will be featured later on in the post. Anyway, back to the movie! This film shocked me, it was interesting to see a few different sides to the story. I hadn’t seen a trailer to this film, I’d was recommended it by a friend and from the poster I thought it would just be a film about Ryan Gosling being a badboy. Which, if you look at it simplistically, it was. But the extra storylines of his past life, and why he does the things he does made the film even more interesting. Bradley Cooper played a cop who tracked Gosling down and becomes a hero – I won’t say too much, but how this plays out was really gripping, you have to play close attention to the details.

30. The Beaver
I came across this film after scrolling through Jennifer Lawrence’s films on IMDB and I really liked it! The main character Walter Black is played by Mel Gibson; Walter is a man who is struggling with both his home and his work life until one day, he begins using a puppet beaver as his only means of communication. Before watching this, I wasn’t sure what kind of tone it would take, perhaps a comedic one like a Jim Carrey sort of approach, or more of a realistic but melancholic one. I’m pleased to say it was the latter because whilst I can hand Jim Carrey-esque humour once in a while, I really wasn’t in the mood for it that day. The film shows both Walter and his friends, family and co-workers trying to adapt to his new way of communication but eventually it becomes too much for everyone – including him.

31. The Paperboy
I found this film after scrolling through Zac Efron’s IMDB page and I was lazy enough to not bother looking at the plot, I was just vaguely interested so I thought I’d give it a whirl. Set in Florida, a reporter and his younger brother investigate the case of a death row inmate. The reporter, Ward Jansen, is played by Matthew McConaughey and his acting was excellent. I’ve seen him in a couple of films but the most memorable would definitely be Magic Mike and the two roles couldn’t be further apart. The younger brother, Jack Jansen, is played by Zac Efron and it definitely made me feel as though he doesn’t get the attention he deserves when it comes to roles he plays, rather than how he looks. The main story of the film is the investigation of death row inmate however as the film progresses, the relationships between the people involved in the investigation develop and that is arguably the most interesting part of the film. I definitely think that I’ve seen too many films where you think someone is going to die and then they don’t and they all live happily ever after; to the point where I watch films like this, it lulls me into a false sense of security which only makes it an even more shocking watch.

32. Why Did I Get Married Too? 
My housemate picked this one whilst we were all downstairs and I wasn’t impressed to be honest. I’ll admit that I haven’t seen the first film to this sequel – Why Did I Get Married? – but my housemate filled us in so we all watched it anyway. I just couldn’t grasp the feel of the movie – whether it was meant to be funny or serious or what and I just found it really boring. Some of the acting was alright, but I just couldn’t shift the bored feeling I had throughout the film.

33. Case 39 
As a rule I always try to avoid horror films, mainly because I’m a massive wimp. But my housemates and I turned all the lights off, and we sat down and watched Case 39 starring Renée Zellweger, Jodelle Ferland, and Bradley Cooper. I haven’t seen  Renée Zellweger play many different roles, and what I have seen has mostly been comedy, so I was a little wary about how believable Zellweger would be in a horror film but I was impressed! There were some scenes that made me feel terrified and in others I felt so ill, but I am so glad I decided to man up and watch a scary film for once. When you try to avoid everything scary, films can sometimes get a little same-y. It was fun to experience so many feelings from a movie, I’ll definitely be watching some more scary films in the near future!

Also, I just wanted to point out that Jodelle Ferland is only 19 and the amount of films and tv shows she has worked on is insane! Kudos to you-dos.

34. Movie 43 
This came up in my suggestions on Netflix and it had some pretty big names in it so I thought I’d give it a watch. It was so funny! Some parts were verging on ridiculous but because there were so many short stories within the film, it kept it fast paced and entertaining. It stars the likes of Hugh Jackman, Kate Winslet, Emma Stone, Chloë Grace Moretz, Halle Berry, Gerald Butler and many more. You’ll only see these big names for a few minutes so don’t expect the entire film to be carried by them, instead expect a massive castThis film is funny and easy to follow, I’d recommend it if you want a light-hearted laugh.

And there you have it, this week’s installment of Films on a Friday. I promise next week it will be on time, if not I will be having serious words with myself.

What have you been watching this week?

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

