Films on a Friday #4

Hello folks. Here’s a bitesize update on the films I’ve been watching this week:

26. Kes
This film was suggested to me by LoveFilm based on watching The Kid with a Bike and it was ok. It’s follows a boy around in the working class who finds and then trains a kestrel. It was released in 1969 so I wasn’t expecting a fast based film, saying that, it still felt very slow in some places. It teetered on the line between gritty and depressing/dull. Personally, I wouldn’t watch it again.

27. Pineapple Express
I’ve been meaning to watch this for a while because it’s one of those films that most people have seen and it was funny! Some bits were just ridiculous but as a light film to watch I really liked it; I can definitely see how it is referred to as a “stoner movie”!

28. Beauty Shop
I didn’t pick this one, my housemate put it on and we all watched it together it features Queen Latifah as the main character who sets up her own beauty shop. Some hilarious moments and lots of exagerated black-girl stereotypes. It was really funny and very easy to follow so if you’re ever browsing on Netflix, give it a whirl.

And there you have it!

What have you been watching recently?

Sophie x

3 thoughts on “Films on a Friday #4

    • That’s exactly what I thought of Pineapple Express! I’m glad I finally got around to watching it 🙂 Kes was ok, very realistic but not much of a storyline – maybe that’s similar to the book, who knows!

      Like

  1. I’m signed up to netflix and although there aren’t any recent blockbusters on there, it kinda forces you to give some films a chance. Watched A Bronx Tale last night, and quite enjoyed it. Even the wife stayed awake and thought it was good! I’ll leave the film critique to you though, you seem to do a better job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

