Films on a Friday #2

Hello folks!

It’s time for the second installment of Films on a Friday, I hope you’re ready! If you want to take a look at Films on a Friday #1 you can do so HERE. So without further ado, here are the films I watched this week:

13. Change-Up
Think Freaky Friday but with two men in their thirties – one married with two kids and the other an actor who sleeps with lots of different women. It was pretty funny actually! I always think how the actors have to think like both characters when they portray the two roles, as in they have to change the way they walk, talk and also change all of their body language.

14. Seeking a Friend for the End of the World
I hadn’t seen a trailer for this so I just clicked it thinking it would be one of those comedies abound the world coming to an end like This Is The End or The World’s End but I quickly found out it wasn’t like that at all. There were some funny parts, but it was mostly about the main character Dodge, portrayed by Steve Carell, who didn’t want to die alone. He meets Penny, portrayed by Keira Knightley, and the rest of of the film shows the two of them trying to make the most of their remaining days. It was pretty good but I don’t think I’d watch it again.

15. After Sex
This films focuses on a total of 9 couples and visits each couple only once in the film, focuses on them for about 10 minutes and then moves onto the next one. Some couples were funny, others were based on self-discovery, some were romantic and some really weren’t. It was a film I’d stumbled across on LoveFilm instant and it was a good find! I’d watch it again.

16. The Kid with a Bike
A french film, it focuses on a young boy in the care system in France. He’s let down by his father and forms a new relationship with a foster parent who helps to ease his anger at the world. There was incredible acting in this film and it really made me think about the care system in place for children who are not cared for by their parents. From watching The Kid with a Bike a few days ago, it has stayed in my head and I can’t stop thinking about it. I watched a programme on Channel 4 called Finding Mum and Dad which was all about children who are ‘hard to place’ and end up living at many different foster homes and it was heartbreaking . I would like to think I’d be in a position to maybe foster when I’m older, but that would be many years in the future.

17. A Haunted House
My housemate picked this one and it was hilarious, I haven’t laughed that hard at a film since Pitch Perfect. To give you an idea of the plot line, it was pretty much a mickey-take of Paranormal Activity with lots of laugh-out-loud humour. I would definitely recommend this and watch it again if I’m in the mood for a good laugh.

18. The Man Who Cried
This film was powerful, it really puts your own problems into perspective. Suzie, a young Russian refugee, is sent to England and the film follows her as she works and travels to try to be reunited with her father in America. During her travels she falls in love with a gypsy horseman, played by Johnny Depp, and throughout the film it feels like the two characters barely talk but instead share many meaningful looks with each other – maybe that’s just my take on it though. I was trying to figure out the meaning of the title because in her film both her lover and her father cry so I wondered if it was just talking about one of them, or a general comment about men crying despite all of the very testosterone-fueled fighting going on around them. I’d be interested to hear what any of you think on that one.

19. American Hustle
Oh shiiit, this film was incredible – the perfect mix of tension and humour. You can read my full review of it HERE. You have to pay attention to it but it’s definitely worth a watch.

20. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas
This was one weird-ass film. It’s a Johnny Depp film and I’ve had a long term goal of watching all of his films so I thought I’d give this one a whirl. It was just 2 hours of Johnny Depp and Benicio Del Toro completely off their nut on every drug going. There were many times whilst watching this I couldn’t help but think “What the eff am I watching?!”

21. Kissing Jessica Stein
I added this to my watchlist on LoveFilm as I have become slightly bored of the heterosexual rom-coms that seem to follow the same plot line every time. Kissing Jessica Stein sees Jessica take an interest in a lonely hearts ad only to find out it was woman-seeking-woman but decides to meet up with her anyway and throughout the film the relationship evolves. I thought this film would be a little more controversial, I don’t know, I feel it could have pushed a lot of boundaries but instead it just like it was pushing the message “Give gay a go”.

And there you have it! Film recommendations are always welcome, what films have you seen lately?

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

