American Hustle – “Oh shiiiiit…”

Hello folks!

So yesterday I went along with my housemate to see American Hustle and I really enjoyed it. The movie is based loosely on the FBI Abscam operation in the late 1970’s and early 1980’s but the very first shot shows you the comedic take on the real-life events with the screen showing “Some of this actually happened”. Both the true story and the film involve catching out politicians who are willing to bend the political rule book in return for bribery. American Hustle was directed by David O’Russell, who worked with Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper when directing Silver Linings Playbook (awesome film by the way) as well as working with Christian Bale and Amy Adams when directing The Fighter . American Hustle stars a lot of big names – Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams, Jeremy Renner and Jennifer Lawrence, as well as a smaller role played by Robert De Niro. All of these names added to my expectations as I thought it must be pretty good to get so many big names on board.

american-hustle-posters-sony

I’d heard a lot about this film before I went to see it and so I was expecting quite a lot. It had won the Golden Globe Award for Best Motion Picture – Musical and Comedy which put it up on the list with the likes of The Lion KingSweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street and Les Misérables – so it was a pretty big deal! As well as that, this film also won the Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture which is an award previously won by American BeautyThe Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, and Slumdog Millionaire. Its been nominated for 10 Oscars and picked up two more Golden globes for Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical (Amy Adams) and Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture (Jennifer Lawrence). That’s a hell of a lot to live up to!

Ok so let’s break it down. In my opinion, all of the acting was amazing and the costumes and cars were accurate (well as far as I know, my knowledge on the 70’s and 80’s is fairly limited). I sometimes get bored by films like this because I get lost in what’s going  but I’d say up until the last 10 minutes I was following everything really easily and the ending just left me wanting to rapidly discuss it with my housemate.

The reason for the title is because the plot and the acting made the tension at certain points be so high that I found myself whispering “Oh shiiiit…” over and over again because of the high stakes the characters are playing for. Saying that, there were many times in the film that I found myself laughing really loud along with the rest of the cinema and I think that’s what kept my attention as I find that films that are constantly high tension tend to get a bit exhausting to watch.

Overall, I’d say this film is well worth a watch. It really made me think about the lengths people go to in order to try to achieve “a better life” despite the risks these situations bring, or how official your position is in society. If any of you have seen American Hustle, I’d be really interested to hear you opinions.

What have you seen in the cinema recently?

Sophie x

3 thoughts on “American Hustle – “Oh shiiiiit…”

  1. Pingback: American Hustle | Films, books and other bits and bobs

  2. Pingback: Films on a Friday #2 | Sophie Redgell

Leave a Reply

