Not All Degrees Are The Same

Today when I dropped my brother off at uni his flatmate said she has a friend who goes to a metropolitan uni and they finished on Dec 6th and they don’t go back till Feb 12th. And I said that’s because met uni’s aren’t real uni’s. That sounds kind of harsh I guess and in hindsight, it was a bit generalised. But how can you compare something like that to, for instance, my course where each term is usually 11 weeks, we don’t get reading weeks and we get 3 weeks for Christmas, not 9?!

What I don’t think is taken into consideration when people say they are students is: where they study and what they study. I went to the opticians at the weekend and was asked my full-time occupation, to which I said “Student.” and he gave me a look as if to say “hmm” as though it isn’t a real full-time occupation. I think the typical view of a student is that they sleep all day, do the minimum level of work to get by and are there for the experience not the education. And if that’s how you want to spend your degree then crack on. I just know that there are some students I know who only have to go in two days a week, and there are pharmacy students at my university that are in 9-5 everyday (and may I take this opportunity to offer you all a well deserved pat on the back). 

I guess what I’m trying to say is that saying you have a degree is all well and good, but where you got your degree from and what your degree is in is what really matters. 

What do you think?

Sophie x

 

2 thoughts on “Not All Degrees Are The Same

  1. Regardless of where someone gets their degree, the fact that they are striving to better themselves is what the focus should really be about. As for working you are right, some students work loads are so heavy work is virtually impossible and others go to school all week and work every evening/weekend to help pay for tuition. The old adage, “Never judge someone till you have walked a mile in their shoes” should apply to everyone. Some schools have longer breaks because a large population of students need to work to pay for tuition. So no Sophie I don’t agree, while it is true that where you graduate from can open doors easier, it doesn’t necessarily make said person better. Nor should the degree they hold. It just means opportunity may come a little easier to them. I would hope we judge people by who they are and not where they are from. If not we might as well go back to the caste system. Interesting topic. 🙂 Good luck with classes and enjoy your weekend.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing your opinion, I wrote the post to get other people’s points of view so it was really interesting to read your reply. In the UK all students are able to have their tuition fees paid for by the government in a loan that is paid back later on in life after earning a certain amount. So when you pick your university, you pick it based on the course, the location and the grades you need to get in there. We’re fortunate to have that system, I can’t imagining having to pay for tuition fees now so that’s a really good point. I didn’t mean it to sound like you are a better person if you got into a certain uni, because I honestly don’t mean that. Without intending offence, I do think that as you pick the university you attend, you are allowed to identify yourself with it and do so with pride as you have earned your place there rather than being born into it. Although saying that, there is the obvious argument that where you are born has a big impact on your level of education… but that’s a whole different topic for another day! Thanks again for commenting! Sophie x

    Like

Leave a Reply

